top of page


what is an hbcu?

hbcu new.jpg
image credit-

The letters “HBCU” are an acronym for Historically Black Colleges and Universities.The Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, defines an HBCU as: “…any historically black college or university that was established prior to 1964, whose principal mission was, and is, the education of black Americans, and that is accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency or association determined by the Secretary [of Education] to be a reliable authority as to the quality of training offered or is, according to such an agency or association, making reasonable progress toward accreditation.”


hbcu listing by state

Alabama A&M University- Huntsville
Alabama State University- Montgomery
Concordia University-Alabama- Selma (closed 2018)
Birmingham-Easonian Baptist Bible College- Birmingham*
Gadsden State College- Gadsden 
J.F. Drake State Technical College- Huntsville
Lawson State Community College- Birmingham
Miles College- Fairfield
Miles School of Law- Fairfield *
Oakwood University- Huntsville
Selma University- Selma
Shelton State Community College- Tuscaloosa
Stillman College- Tuscaloosa
Talladega College- Talladega
Tuskegee University- Tuskegee
H. Councill Trenholm State Community College- Montgomery

University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff- Pine Bluff
Arkansas Baptist College- Little Rock
Philander Smith College- Little Rock
Shorter College- North Little Rock

Charles Drew University of Medicine & Science*- Los Angeles

Delaware State University- Dover

District of Columbia
University of the District of Columbia
Howard University

Bethune Cookman University- Daytona Beach
Edward Waters College- Jacksonville
Florida A&M University- Tallahassee
Florida Memorial University- Miami Gardens

Albany State University- Albany
Carver College*- Atlanta
Clark Atlanta University- Atlanta
Fort Valley State University- Fort Valley
Interdenominational Theological Center- Atlanta
Johnson C Smith Theological Seminary*- Atlanta
Morehouse College- Atlanta
Morehouse School of Medicine- Atlanta
Morris Brown College**- Atlanta
Paine College- Augusta
Savannah State University- Savannah
Spelman College- Atlanta



Kentucky State University- Frankfort

Simmons College of Kentucky- Louisville



Dillard University-New Orleans

Grambling State University- Grambling

Southern University and A&M College- Baton Rouge

Southern University New Orleans- New Orleans

Southern University-Shreveport- Shreveport

Xavier University- New Orleans


Bowie State University- Bowie

Coppin State University- Baltimore

University of Maryland- Eastern Shore- Princess Anne

Morgan State University- Baltimore



Lewis College of Business- Detroit (Closed 2013)


Alcorn State University- Lorman

Coahoma Community College- Clarksdale

Hinds County Community College- Utica

Jackson State University- Jackson

Mississippi Valley State University- Itta

BenaRust College- Holly Springs

Tougaloo College- Tougaloo



Harris-Stowe State University- St. Louis

Lincoln University- Jefferson City


North Carolina

Barber-Scotia College**- Concord

Bennett College- Greensboro

Elizabeth City State University- Elizabeth City

Fayetteville State University- Fayetteville

Hood Theological Seminary*- Salisbury

Johnson C. Smith University- Charlotte

Livingston College- Salisbury

North Carolina Central University- Durham

North Carolina A&T State University- Greensboro

Shaw University- Raleigh

St. Augustine's University- Raleigh

Winston-Salem State University- Winston Salem



Central State University- Wilberforce

Payne Theological Seminary*- Wilberforce

Wilberforce University- Wilberforce



Langston University- Langston



Cheyney University- Cheyney

The Lincoln University- Lincoln University


South Carolina

Allen University- Columbia

Benedict College- Columbia

Claflin University- Orangeburg

Clinton College- Rock Hill

Denmark Technical College- Denmark

Morris College- Sumter

South Carolina State University- Orangeburg

Voorhees College- Denmark



American Baptist University- Nashville

Fisk University- Nashville

Knoxville College**- Knoxville

Lane College- Jackson

LeMoyne Owen College- Memphis

Meharry Medical College

Tennessee State University- Nashville



Huston-Tillotson University- Austin

Jarvis Christian College- Hawkins

Paul Quinn College- Dallas

Prairie View A&M University- Prairie View

Southwestern Christian College- Terrell

St. Philips College- San Antonio

Texas College- Tyler

Texas Southern University- Houston

Wiley College- Marshall


US Virgin Islands

University of the Virgin Islands- St. Thomas &  St. Croix



Hampton University- Hampton

Norfolk State University- Norfolk

Saint Paul's College- Lawrenceville (closed 2013)

Virginia State University- Petersburg

Virginia Union University- Richmond

Virginia University of Lynchburg- Lynchburg

West Virginia

Bluefield State College- Bluefield

West Virginia State University



There are nine historically Black Greek letter organizations (BGLOs) that make up the National Pan-Hellenic Council. Collectively, these organizations are referred to as "The Divine Nine." These organizations have produced various professionals in the business, law, sports, and entertainment field. Each of these fraternities and sororities is rich in history - ties to one or more of these organizations may be found in many college-educated Black families in the United States.

Learn more about the NPHC at

bottom of page